What's New > Announcing our 2020 NATSAA semifinalists!

Announcing our 2020 NATSAA semifinalists!

posted on 11:25 AM, November 12, 2019

Semifinalists have been selected for the 2020 National Association of Teachers of Singing Artist Awards (NATSAA) competition. One representative from each NATS region will travel to New York City to compete in this year's event during the NATS Winter Workshop.

The semifinal and final rounds will take place on Friday, January 10, 2020. Admission to watch the NATSAA final round is included in the package for those who are attending the Winter Workshop, which will be held in the Grand Ballroom of the Roosevelt Hotel, January 10-12, 2020. General admission tickets for the final round will be available at the door for $10. NATSAA_logo_2020png.png

The NATSAA semifinal and final are held annually in New York City, in proximity to a wide audience of artist managers and industry professionals. Preliminary competitions were held over the past few weeks in each of the 14 NATS regions throughout North America.

The winner is awarded more than $13,000 in cash and prizes, including: $5,000 cash, a New York Solo Debut in a major choral work with orchestra and chorus sponsored by DCINY; a Scholarship to attend the American Institute of Musical Studies (AIMS) in Graz, Austria; a $1,000 gift certificate from Hal Leonard Corporation; and a solo recital at the 55th NATS National Conference in Knoxville, TN – June 26-30, 2020.

Second prize includes more than $6,000 in cash and prizes: $4,000 cash plus a scholarship to attend AIMS in Graz and a $500 gift certificate from Hal Leonard Corporation.
The NATSAA competition takes place every other year. Sponsors of this year's event include Distinguished Concerts International New York (DCINY), AIMS in Graz, the Hal Leonard Corporation, and the NATS Foundation.

The 2020 semifinalists, by region, are:


Cal-Western: Brooke Lohman-Janz
(Los Angeles, CA)


Central: Brittany Benningfield
(Carbondale, IL)


Eastern: Mariya Kaganskaya
(New York, NY)


Great Lakes: Sandy Sharis
(Columbus, OH)


Intermountain: Hannah Pagenkopf
(Calgary, AB, Canada)


Mid-Atlantic: Matt Hill
(Washington, DC)


Mid-South: Emily Black
(Paducah, KY)


New England: Tamra Jones
(Boston, MA)


North Central: Laura Basse
(Helenville, WI)

Serena Eduljee

Northwestern: Serena Eduljee
(Issaquah, WA)


Southeastern: Liliana Guerrero
(Tallahassee, FL)


Southern: Tiffany Williams
(Jackson, MS)


Texoma: Rebekah, Howell
(Houston, TX)


West Central: Steven Groth
(Boulder, CO)