NATS National Committee Assignments and Appointments

July 2017-June 2018

On behalf of the NATS Board of Directors, I wish to thank the following NATS members who have so generously agreed to serve on our national committees. All have been appointed or reappointed, and approved by the NATS Board. Each standing committee is described in our Association Bylaws, and a more detailed list of objectives for all committees will be noted in the approved minutes from the 2017 Board Meeting.

-- Linda J. Snyder, President 



Linda J. Snyder, President
Karen Brunssen, President Elect
Alison Feldt, Vice President for Outreach
Dan Johnson-Wilmot, Vice President for Membership
Diana Allan, Vice President for Auditions
Kristine Hurst-Wajszczuk, Vice President for Workshops
Lloyd Mims, Secretary/Treasurer
Allen Henderson, Executive Director (ex-officio)

The Executive Committee serves in an advisory capacity to the Board and shall assume powers and duties as deemed necessary and delegated to it by the Board, to which it shall be responsible. In particular, the committee conducts performance evaluations of the executive director, administers the awards program, and reviews progress on board goals and objectives. A sub-committee makes recommendations for budget planning, reviews recommendations regarding organizational structure and staff, and approves the agenda for board meetings.


Norman Spivey, Past President, Chair
Earl Coleman
Cynthia Dewey
Lloyd Mims
Martha Randall

The Nominating Committee is responsible for the nomination of persons to fill the offices of President–Elect, Vice Presidents, and Secretary/Treasurer. The committee will also propose a procedure for the nominating process, to include identifying key qualifications for the duties of certain offices, and an interview model.


Dan Johnson-Wilmot, VP Membership, Chair
Karen Brunssen (IL)
Alexis B. Davis (AZ)
Mary Ann Hart (IN)
Stephanie Henkle (OH)
Wendy Hillhouse (CA)
Ayumi Nakamae (NC)
Christine Keene (AK)
Tanya Kruse Ruck (WI)
Ellie Seligmann (CO)
Darryl Taylor (CA)
Patricia Weis (WI) 

By-Laws: “The Membership Committee shall assist the Vice President in membership promotion, recruitment, and retention, and be available to advise the Vice President for Membership and Executive Office on applications for membership.”

The Membership Committee will work to promote, recruit, and retain members, by evaluating current practice, exploring new ideas, and recommending future goals. In particular, they will work with chapter officers, encouraging them to sponsor activities that attract new members, and gather information at the “grass roots” level to address successes and issues related to membership.

Current goals include (1) recruiting and serving more independent teachers and collaborative pianists, (2) encouraging voice teachers in every college/university to join, (3) following up on those members who have been NATS Interns, Emerging Leaders, or Boytim Independent Teacher Awardees, (4) developing ways to increase and ensure a diverse membership, (5) fulfilling the “NATS for a Lifetime” and “Singing for a Lifetime” themes, including featured stories of long-time members, (6) developing strategies to involve NATS members who join as national members and do not join Chapters, more directly in NATS activities and fellowship, (7) to survey NATS entities about best practices for recruitment and retention of NATS members, 8) to implement the new Student Membership in conjunction with the Vice President for Outreach and the Student NATS Chapters.


Robert Edwin, Chair
Robert Dundas
Lloyd Mims, Secretary/Treasurer (ex-officio)
Allen Henderson, Executive Director

The committee is responsible for studying and recommending the investment of surplus funds and advising on the condition of funds in trust.


Kenneth Bozeman, Chair
Richard Sjoerdsma, Editor
Andrew Adams
Stephen Austin
Debra Greschner
Lynn Helding
Judith Nicosia
Sherri Weiler

The Editorial Board conducts peer review and assists the Editor in all matters pertinent to the publication of the Journal.


Jennifer Trost, Chair
Sarah Holman
Linda Snyder, President
Norman Spivey, Past President

The responsibilities of the Ethics Committee shall be the resolution of alleged violations of the Code of Ethics, and resolution of cases involving a Member’s conduct alleged to be detrimental to the welfare and best interests of the Association.



Diana Allan, VP Auditions, Chair and NATSAA Liaison
Frank Ragsdale, National Music Theater Competition Liaison
Dan Johnson-Wilmot, National Student Auditions Liaison
Allen Henderson, Executive Director

The Auditions and Competitions Committee will oversee each of the programs above. The liaisons may assemble groups of members to help carry out the duties of the particular audition or competition.


David Meyer, chair
James Doing
Lynn Helding
Wendy LeBorgne (Health and Wellness)
Scott McCoy
Deirdre D. Michael, Vocapedia monitor
John Nix
Robert Sataloff
Leda Scearce
Ron Scherer

Emeritus members:
Ingo Titze
Thomas Cleveland
Steve Austin

The Voice Science Advisory Committee is to stay abreast of information about voice research for the membership. The Vocapedia project will make information available about voice production and important related topics, and committee members may solicit colleagues to assist. The committee may serve as a resource for awareness of current research and voice investigations, including vocal health and wellness, and for possible participation in research and voice investigations. The committee will also pursue possible joint awards with the Voice Foundation for meritorious presentations at Voice Foundation symposia or NATS conferences.


Kathryn Proctor Duax, Chair
Minnita Daniel-Cox
Don Hodges
Laurie Lashbrook
Jill Lewis
Mitra Sadeghpour
Anne Petrie
Craig Tompkins 

The Education Advocacy Commission will advocate for the teaching of music in schools, seek opportunities for advocacy partnerships with other music organizations, and recommend plans of action. In 2017 the committee produced a survey of the membership.


Kathryn Proctor Duax

The archivist maintains and preserves official records of NATS at the designated archival center, and informs the executive director of changes needed.

The historian provides a narrative of conferences, and assists the Executive Office in collecting, describing, updating, and preserving documentary sources significant to NATS. The historian shall have access to documents and other records pertinent to the history of the Association.


Carol Mikkelsen, Chair
Don Simonson
Lori Laitman, Advisor

The NATS Art Song Composition Award Committee solicits original vocal compositions, and organizes the selection of the winning compositions, the annual First Place Winners being performed at the National Conference. The committee shall make all necessary arrangements in coordination with the executive director and the next (2018) Conference Planning Committee.


Norman Spivey, Past President, Director of Intern Program, Chair
Brian Horne, NATS Foundation President
Linda Snyder, President


Tod Fitzpatrick, Program Chair
Linda Snyder, President
Norman Spivey, Past President
Karen Brunssen, President Elect
Allen Henderson, Executive Director 
Alphonse Anderson, Coordinating Committee Chair

Local Committee:
Chadley Ballentine, Registration
Kimberly James, NSA Assistant Coordinator
Linda Lister, Guest Artist Coordinator
Carol Ann Modesitt, Singers/Pianists Coordinator
John Nix, Poster Paper Session Coordinator
Ashley Stone, Volunteer Coordinator
William McCoullough, Stage Management for Plenary Sessions


Tod Fitzpatrick, Program Chair
Linda Snyder, President
Karen Brunssen, President Elect
Richard Sjoerdsma, Editor, Journal of Singing
Allen Henderson, Executive Director