What's New > Semifinalists Announced for 2016 National Music Theater Competition

Semifinalists Announced for 2016 National Music Theater Competition

posted on 10:54 PM, June 6, 2016

The third National Music Theater Competition recently completed its preliminary competition rounds for 2016, resulting in the selection of 25 national semifinalists who will travel to Chicago to compete during the National Association of Teachers 54th National Conference.

The semifinal round will take place on Friday, July 8, with the finals scheduled for Saturday, July 9. The winner is awarded more than $5,000 in prizes in addition to a concert at the next NATS National Conference; second prize is awarded more than $2,500; third prize is $1,000 and fourth prize is $750.

The National Music Theater Competition seeks the best emerging music theater soloists. To be eligible, applicants must be between ages 20-28. The preliminary rounds of the competition took place in New York City, Chicago and Los Angeles. An online video submission round was also held for participants who could not travel to the live audition sites.

Sponsors of this year's event include Hal Leonard Corporation, Stage Door Access, California State University – Fullerton, Manhattan School of Music, and Roosevelt University.

Below is a complete list of national semifinalists:

Victoria Benkoski  Hoosick Falls, NY
Karon Chapa Belton, TX
Amy Docalavich Sharpsburg, GA
Gabrielle Fuqua Florence, AL
Hannah Fay Huizing Southampton, NY
Bethany Jeffery Cincinnati, OH
Kate Johnson Canton, GA
D'Nasya Jordan Brooklyn, NY
Jimmy Mavrikes Owings, MD
Yamuna Meleth Brooklyn, NY
Madelyn Monaghan Little Silver, NJ
Amy Moodie Oakville, ON
Rebecca Odorisio New York, NY
Lauren Paris Chicago, IL
Clara Pestis Studio City, CA
Mark Saunders Saint Louis, MO
Mikki Sodergren New York, NY
Nicole Stewart Cedar Rapids, IA
Thomas Thompson Reno, NV
Brandon Wetmore Buena Park, CA
Nathan White Little Rock, AR
Kayla Wilkins Lincoln, NE
Mari Wilkerson Hamilton, OH
Missy Wise Chicago, IL
Anson Woodin Ames, IA