What's New > Semifinalists announced for National Music Theater Competition

Semifinalists announced for National Music Theater Competition

posted on 2:48 PM, June 9, 2014

The second-annual National Music Theater Competition recently completed its preliminary competition rounds for 2014, resulting in the selection of 24 national semifinalists who will travel to Boston to compete during the National Association of Teachers 53rd National Conference.

The semifinal round will take place on Saturday, July 5, with the finals scheduled for Sunday, July 6. The winner is awarded more than $5,000 in prizes in addition to a concert at the next NATS National Conference; second prize is awarded more than $2,500; third prize is $1,000.

The National Music Theater Competition seeks the best emerging music theater soloists. To be eligible, applicants must be between ages 20-28. The preliminary rounds of the competition take place in New York City, Chicago and Los Angeles. An online video submission round is also held for participants who cannot travel to the live audition sites.

Sponsors of this year's event include Hal Leonard Corporation, Stage Door Access, Chapman University, NYU Steinhardt and Wheaton College.

Longtime NATS member and former NATS Foundation President Louise Lerch is also being honored posthumously by the naming of the $1,000 third prize in the National Music Theater Competition as the Louise Lerch Award.  Lerch’s close friend Jolie Stratton of Irving, Texas, is funding the award.

Below is a complete list of national semifinalists:

April Amante Simi Valley, California
Jocelyn Ascherl Haslett, Michigan
Graham Bailey New York, New York
Joaquín Benavente Northridge, California
Ryan Bowman Northglenn, Colorado
Elena Camp King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Danielle Grays Winchester, Virginia
Marina Jarrette Tempe, Arizona
D'Nasya Jordan Brooklyn, New York
Natalie MacDonald Simi Valley, California
Michael Maliakel New York, New York
Melissa Modifer Phoenix, Arizona
Sarah Amelia Moodie Oakville, Ontario
Eliza Palasz Seattle, Washington
Zachary Piser Evanston, Illinois
Joshua Powell Basehor, Kansas
Alex Rader Nashville, Tennessee
Hannah Rash Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Davey Rosenberg Astoria, New York
Mark Saunders St. Louis, Missouri
Caitlin Secrest Arkadelphia, Arkansas
Mikki Sodergren New York, New York
Kelton Washington Roslindale, Massachusetts
Anson Woodin Ames, Iowa

2014 NMTC Semifinalists